Eye of the Hurricane

April 4, 2010

Sony Ericsson Open

I just finished 30 hours of volunteer work at the Sony Ericsson Open, and I must say that I’m a tad bit tired.

From fetching food “scripts” to announcing interview times, the experience was something that I’ll remember and take with me when I come across international sporting events in the future.

Although both finals were rather dull, we saw the re-emergence of a dangerous Andy Roddick and a dominant Kim Clijsters, who also happens to be a proud mother less than a year back from retirement.

Tomorrow (or should I say today since it’s just after midnight), I’ll give my thoughts on the prize money awarded to the tennis players who competed in the tournament on Key Biscayne.

But until then, sleep calls. And so does study time for my Psychology of Gender exam.

Some noteworthy events I experienced:

  • TMZ called the media center phone about whether Elin Woods would be at the Roddick/Rafael Nadal match. I spoke with the guy, and this is what became of it: http://www.tmz.com/2010/04/02/elin-nordegren-tennis-sony-ericsson-photo-tiger-woods-andy-roddick-rafael-nadal/
  • Nadal doesn’t get treated differently. He was asked to show his credential before entering through the door right next to media credentialing.
  • Serena Williams shops among us. Before Venus’s final loss to Clijsters, Serena walked by with a Forever 21 bag that I had bought my best friend for her birthday.
  • Where does Bud Collins get his pants?! One of the highlights of my day included seeing the colorful trousers he sports.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment