Eye of the Hurricane

February 24, 2010

What is it About Patriotism?

Filed under: Uncategorized — jaymarshburn @ 4:13 pm

While I’ve been sitting in my room for the past couple of weeks, I realized something: I’ve watched more hockey in these Winter Olympics than I have in the past four years of the NHL…at least four years.

So, naturally that made me think. What is it about patriotism and national pride that makes me so interested in a sport that I pretty much loathe (I’m all for attending games, but watching it is just painful). Is it the fact that I just want to see the good old USA show world domination? I know for a fact that I loved seeing Canada go down on their home ice (is that mean?).

I also know that it’s not just me. All my friends keep talking about is the Olympics, including the hockey tourney and most shockingly, curling. Shuffleboard mixed with bocce ball on ice? Yes, please.

All I’m getting at here is that patriotism has some serious side effects. I’m sure that while America is still in it, I will be all about the World Cup this summer. To me, the only sport worse to watch on TV than hockey is undoubtedly soccer. If the United States are involved though, count me in.

1 Comment »

  1. I have met very few Americans who actually like soccer.
    For me, its one of my favourite sports, it demands skill, teamwork and you can actually sit and watch it without being stopped every few seconds.
    Don’t get me wrong I’ve loved watching American Football during my time in the States and learning along the way, but its too long, too stop/start and too technical.
    Maybe my reason for loving it so much is ‘cos I grew up playing it like I’m sure many of you grew up playing football.
    I, too, cannot wait for the World Cup, I haven’t yet decided whether I’m backing England or Scotland, but I’ll be cheering for the countries that brought us real football all the way.

    Comment by alexgee22 — March 1, 2010 @ 12:28 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

