Eye of the Hurricane

February 15, 2010

Jersey numbers and Getty images

While perusing rumors about University of Miami football players calling “dibs” on numbers for next season, I stumbled upon the photo to the left.

If you look closely behind freshman running back Mike James, you might find a familiar face.

Me.

It’s both bizarre and cool. You know you’ve hit the big time when you make it as a blurry figure in a Getty image!

But back to the main topic at hand.

Getting certain numbers is evidently important in college football too. I thought it was mainly just a professional sports deal. Heck, I always had to wear No. 13 when I played sports, so it makes sense…

According to my followers on Twitter, the following players have asked for these numbers:

  • James will take over Javarris James’s old number (No. 5), which was highly coveted. Mike wore No. 22 this season.
  • Freshman running back (early enrollee) Storm Johnson will wear No. 24. Chavez Grant wore it this season.
  • Freshman running back Lamar Miller will wear No. 6. He wore No. 27 this season; Randy Phillips had No. 6.
  • Freshman wide receiver (early enrollee) Allen Hurns will wear No. 80. Jimmy Graham wore it this season.
  • Incoming freshman linebacker Kevin Nelson will wear No. 52. Nobody had that number.
2 Comments »

  1. I was 22 every year I played softball except for one. It was awful, you can’t even reverse 22 so I had to take 21. All season my teammates would scream “come on 2-1” and I would tell them to stop cause I hated it. Numbers are a big deal.

    Comment by Kiersten — February 15, 2010 @ 11:43 pm | Reply

  2. I am guessing that you are not one of the older men in the group, and are the one person wearing shorts, based on your ID.

    I am not sure if you were the one to add the links and tags, but it was a nice touch, using the web links like that.

    Minor issues:

    “But back to the main topic at hand.” Ouch. Filler that could be removed completely, IMO.

    “Getting certain numbers is also important in college football.” It is “also” important compared to what that was in the article before it? The “also” threw me back to find what I had missed.

    “Getting certain numbers is important to college football players.” would read better, make it more clear to whom it was important, and not refer to something later in the paragraph that reader has not yet seen.

    Comment by Canes Fan — February 17, 2010 @ 9:52 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

