Eye of the Hurricane

February 3, 2010

Canes 2010 Recruiting Class A Disappointment

Filed under: Uncategorized — pfom @ 7:33 pm

First off, I want to point out that I have many opinions on UM recruiting, and I’m kind of frustrated so the following blog might not be coherent.

It’s not that the class is terrible. It filled some key needs (specifically O-line and TE), and the LB’s and RB’s in this class have the potential to be solid contributors down the line. However, the class is a disappointment because of the South Florida studs Randy Shannon missed out on.  I am a firm believer in loading up on kids from Miami-Dade to Palm Beach.  Not only are the football players from this area very athletic and talented, they have an extra something (you could call it swagger I guess) which is intensified when they are playing for the U in front of their friends and families, playing WITH kids they grew up playing football with in Pop Warner.  In this 2010 recruiting class, we saw the most of the top kids from South Florida sign everywhere but UM.  I’ll throw out a few names: Lamarcus Joyner (FSU), Corey Lemonier (Auburn), Chris Dunkley (Florida), Matt Elam (Florida), Ivan McCartney (West Virginia)… I’ll stop there because it just depresses me.

I understand that sometimes kids just don’t want to stay in South Florida, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen this many top flight So. Fla. kids shunning the University of Miami.  There have been rumors in recruiting circles, that this current UM staff “slept-on” a lot of these top So Fla kids and kind of expected them to be highly interested in UM without the staff having to put much effort into recruiting them.  I don’t know if that’s the case but something was definitely up this year in recruiting.

I think I’m one of the few Randy Shannon supporters left, but I may not be for long.  I have been justifying my support of Randy Shannon because of his recruiting.  He did a great job with the 2008 class, focusing on local players.  I don’t think Randy is a very good head coach otherwise, but that’s another topic.  With this disappointing recruiting class, I don’t really have many positives about Randy (although I will reserve judgment until this next season plays out).

A blog below talked about the “hidden gems”.  I like to refer to these guys as “scrubs”.  I’m sorry but if your only other offers are from Illinois St., Fresno St., Buffalo, etc… there is most likely a reason.  It’s pretty hard for a high school football player to be “under the radar” nowadays.  We, through the internet, have access to highlight tapes and games from here to Alaska.  Camp results get reported on the internet and MOST decent high school players can be found on rivals.com or scout.com.  Obviously, there will be some players who may develop tremendously in college and become a player nobody thought they would, but that’s terribly hard to predict.  As for the “hidden gems”, Manny Navarro wrote an excellent blog about the “hidden gems” the University of Miami has brought in in recent years, I suggest you read it.  http://miamiherald.typepad.com/umiami/2010/01/finding-hidden-gems-no-easy-task-for-canes.html

Of course there are highly rated prospects who are “duds” (ARTHUR BROWN!!!!), but I think it’s obvious you will find less duds at the top of recruit rankings.  I will end this by saying that I hope I’m wrong about this recruiting class, but all I see is a bunch of 4 year special teams players and mediocre starters.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

