Eye of the Hurricane

April 14, 2009

A long over do post…

Filed under: Uncategorized — bapsupreme @ 6:18 pm

This post is long over do, and very near and dear to my heart…

Last week, I think (it has all been such a whirlwind since it happened), my best friend and the UConn Huskies won the Women’s NCAA Championship.

Some of you fellas may be rolling your eyes.  But when is the last time you crossed over on someone, started in a national championship basketball team, or even played a full basketball game?  And half court pick-up games don’t count.

My best friend, Kaili McClaren, became my best friend randomly, and we’ve supported each others endeavors since.  But I remember walking down the hall with her in high school while she told me in great detail the first thing she would do once she won a national championship.  I have all those conversations glued in my memory.

So that night while they cut down the basket, she sent me a text saying that she would try to cut me down a piece…I guess because I’ve always believed in her and make sure that she knows it.

So what does this have to do with anything?  I don’t know really.  I just know I have been extremely proud since the final buzzer rang.  That my best friend, who shared a most likely to be a superstar superlative, is the most decorated athlete to come out of our high school.  That the Huskies reached perfection…or maybe I’m just happy to say that she, the national champion, is my best friend.

Either way this boastful moment is long over due, and I’m glad I took the time to do it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

