Eye of the Hurricane

February 27, 2008

monday morning

Filed under: Uncategorized — rsolange @ 1:55 pm

I have been meaning to post, but school kind of gets in the way of my blogging sometimes, rightfully so.  So I woke up at 5 a.m. Monday morning to get to the track weight training session on time – kind of reminded me of when I would have to get up at Queens College to go to swim practice.  Boy did I hate walking to school in the snow to get into the pool at that time.

Enough reminiscing.  The girls looked surprisingly bright eyed and bushy tailed.  So did coach Amy Deem.  What I saw impressed me, I must say.  The team was doing hang cleans to a jerk,  here is an example of how to (http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/OlympicLifts/HangClean.html).   It was a light work out, but Krista Simkins was pulling 98 (bar and weights on bar).  Quick note – as soon as I stepped through that door, strength and conditioning coach Andreu Swasey asked me what I needed – guess they’re really protective of who is allowed in there.

One other interesting nugget – after the training session, which lasted about 30 minutes,  I asked coach Deem if she still lifted.  She was just about to start her workout in fact, and she told me that last year she was out-lifting the freshman.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

