Eye of the Hurricane

February 15, 2008

Hurricanes’ Hall of Fame Expanding More Rapidly than the Sun

Filed under: Uncategorized — hcumphrey @ 4:07 pm

2008 University of Miami Hall of Fame InducteesEight people were inducted this week into the University of Miami Sports Hall of Fame, which would be wise to exercise more restraint in the future. A hall of fame class should be intimate, not too large; otherwise, the prestige of being a Hall of Famer is tarnished. A good rule would be that no more than one athlete per sport can enter the hall each year. Three football players–Jeff Feagles, Randal Hill, and K.C. Jones–were inducted this year. Letting the candidacies of Hill and Jones marinate for at least another year would have been O.K. because no one would have noticed. It is nice to honor those athletes now,  but it would have been prudent to save them in case the hall’s committee finally succeeds in its apparent mission to enshrine everyone who ever started for one of our teams. At its current rate of expansion, our Hall of Fame will include Kyle Wright and Kirby Freeman twenty years from now.


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: